Fresh shake-up in Police


The Inspector General of Police (IGP), David Asante-Apeatu, has reassigned 38 senior police officers in a recent reshuffle less than a month after appointing a deputy IGP.

Internal memo dated October 15 and 16, 2018 said the current postings supersede the one released on September 28, 2018 and takes immediate effect.

DCOP Simon Yaw Afeku, Director General in-charge operations has been moved to the ICT Directorate.

DCOP Patrick Adusei Sarpong, Director General in-charge of Legal and Prosecution, is moving to Accra Region as Commander while DCOP G. Owusu-Boateng, Deputy Accra Regional Police Commander, moves to the Brong Ahafo Regional Command.

He has been replaced by DCOP Kwaku Boadu-Peprah, Deputy Tema Regional Police Commander.

DCOP Edward J. Oyirifi–Akrofi, Deputy Northern Regional Commander, has been moved to the Tema Regional Command as deputy.

However, the posting of DCOP Fred Adu Anim Vide, according to the memo, has been cancelled.

DCOP Edward Tabiri, Director General in-charge of Private Security Operations (PSO), moves to head the Police Intelligence Directorate, and has been replaced by ACP Francis Aboagye Byarko, Deputy Director of the Criminal Investigations Department (CID).

ACP Aboagye Nyarko has been replaced by ACP George Tweneboah of the Formed Police Unit (FPU), Accra.

Chief Superintendent Henry Kodjo Otoo, Weija Divisional Commander, would also move to FPU in Accra.

ACP Nelson Opoku of the Finance Unit moves to the Internal Audit Unit as the National Headquarters as Deputy Director.

ACP Edmund Ohene Bosompem of Tarkwa Division in the Western Region has been moved to the Western Regional Command as Deputy Regional Commander.

ACP Felix Fosu–Agyemang, Kpeshie Divisional Commander in Accra, has been moved to Northern Region as Deputy Regional Commander.

He has been replaced by ACP Francis Kwame Tsidi, National Headquarters.

ACP Ernest Kwabena Owusu of Kaneshie Division has also been moved to Tema Region as Regional Commander, and has been replaced by ACP Edward Faakye Kumi, Dawurampong Divisional Commander.

ACP Peter Gyima of the Ashaiman Division, Tema Region, has been moved to Volta Region as Deputy Regional Commander while ACP Denis Abade Akob-Dem of Police Intelligence Directorate moves to Tarkwa as Divisional Commander.

ACP Albert Nang-Baa Denkaaba, Armourer-General, National Headquarters, Accra, would additionally supervise Weija Division.

Chief Superintendent Samuel Ammisah of the Tema Regional Headquarters moves to Ashaiman as divisional commander.

Chief Superintendent Nicholas Ntiri-Addo of Motor Traffic and Transport Department (MTTD), Agona Swedru, has been moved to Cape Coast as Regional MTTD Commander while Chief Superintendent Alexander Dzabaku Amenya, Central MTTU Accra, moves to Kotokuraba District in the Central Region.

Superintendent Cephas Arthur, East Legon District Police Commander and one-time director in charge of Public Affairs, moves to Mamprobi District.

He is swapping positions with DSP George Lysander Asare.

Superintendent Peter Kamasa of CID Headquarters in Accra moves to Keta Division in the Volta Region as Crime Officer while Supt. Godfred Ferdinand Amengor, National Headquarters Accra, moves to Accra Central Division as Crime Officer.

Supt. Obrako Sarpong Bempah, Walewale District in the Northern Region moves to Damongo District while DSP Emmanel Francis Asiamah, Nkawie District in the Ashanti Region also moves to Asesewa District in the Eastern Region.

DSP John Yeboah of the Kokrobite District in Accra Region moves to Weija Division to take charge of operations.

He has been replaced by DSP Buxton Benjamin Abeka of Adenta MTTD, Accra.

DSP Kumpe Dieku Gbele, Abuakwa Divisional MTTU is moving to Adenta MTTD, while ASP Gladstone Kumeko, Damongo District Commander in the Northern Region, moves to Tolon District in the Northern Region while ASP Noble Deegbe of Tolon District moves to Walewale District.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *